Who reads this blog, anyway?

WordPress just provided the following statistics regarding blog readership. People from 57 countries have visited the Northwest Geology Field Trips website in the past 30 days. They are listed below by country. On the downside, the WordPress spam filter has detected 17,296 spam comments in the past year. Hopefully none of those have been a legit comment from a reader- I’ve never noticed one when I spot-check the  spam list every couple of days. There have been 133,390 views since I started up in November 2009. There are 328 subscribers.

Views by Country for 30 days ending 2012-03-09.

Country Views
United States FlagUnited States 3,163
Canada FlagCanada 252
United Kingdom FlagUnited Kingdom 75
Colombia FlagColombia 18
Germany FlagGermany 17
Philippines FlagPhilippines 15
Singapore FlagSingapore 14
India FlagIndia 11
Brazil FlagBrazil 11
Turkey FlagTurkey 10
South Africa FlagSouth Africa 9
Australia FlagAustralia 9
Pakistan FlagPakistan 9
Ethiopia FlagEthiopia 8
Indonesia FlagIndonesia 8
Ireland FlagIreland 7
Netherlands FlagNetherlands 7
Moldova, Republic of FlagMaldova 7
Romania FlagRomania 7
Thailand FlagThailand 7
France FlagFrance 6
Korea, Republic of FlagRepublic of Korea 5
Poland FlagPoland 5
Russian Federation FlagRussian Federation 5
Spain FlagSpain 4
Italy FlagItaly 4
New Zealand FlagNew Zealand 4
United Arab Emirates FlagUnited Arab Emirates 3
Mexico FlagMexico 3
Oman FlagOman 3
Peru FlagPeru 3
Belgium FlagBelgium 2
Israel FlagIsrael 2
Switzerland FlagSwitzerland 2
Bulgaria FlagBulgaria 2
Nigeria FlagNigeria 2
Venezuela FlagVenezuela 2
Serbia FlagSerbia 2
Ghana FlagGhana 2
Nepal FlagNepal 2
Dominican Republic FlagDominican Republic 1
Egypt FlagEgypt 1
Cyprus FlagCyprus 1
Viet Nam FlagViet Nam 1
Czech Republic FlagCzech Republic 1
Finland FlagFinland 1
Austria FlagAustria 1
Trinidad and Tobago FlagTrinidad and Tobago 1
Puerto Rico FlagPuerto Rico 1
Bahamas FlagBahamas 1
Malaysia FlagMalaysia 1
Argentina FlagArgentina 1
Jamaica FlagJamaica 1
Northern Mariana Islands FlagNorthern Mariana Islands 1
Sri Lanka FlagSri Lanka 1
Ukraine FlagUkraine 1
Norway FlagNorway 1
8 Responses

  1. I remain happy to have led you to WordPress and your blog. I do very much enjoy reading your musings.

  2. The country of origin of some of your blog readers surprised me but the fact that nobody from Japan is on the list shocked me.

  3. I usually read this blog through my email and enjoy it. I never knew if it registered or not, but its nice to know you got a following and can recognize it.

    One of my goals in life is to take a trip to the Pacific northwest and when I go I want to know as much of the geology as possible. I’ve been before but have been frustrated by my lack of knowledge of the geology, in the area. It’s so complex. Your posts have been an inspiration to me, making me want to go there again just so I can see some of the things you have written about.

    • Ann,
      Glad you like the website. When you make it to the area you’ll have so many cool places to visit, your head will spin. Lots of good references and field guides available for the traveler. Check out the Books and maps on this site before you return. Many are available in bookstores.
      Dave

    • I am shocked regarding 17,000 spam comments. Don’t people have anything better to do with their precious time ?

    • Yeah. People claiming to sell cheap shoes, watches, girls, boys, handbags. They offer helpful hints on how to make the website even better by clicking on this link and this one, too. Guarantees of fame and fortune, and . . .
      90 spams just today, all caught by the spam-filter at WordPress.

  4. You made me curious so for the first time, I checked my Spam fllters on GMAIL which filters out a lot of crap for me unhelped…I was stunned to see in the last 30 days ( it autodeletes itself after 30 days) was 805 SPAM emails to me. That is 9,660 annually !!!!!! That means since you started the blog three years ago, you have had 17,000 SPAMS and I have had a stunning estimated 29,880 spams. What is wrong with those people ? Why don’t they take a nice long hot bath and drown themselves ?

Leave a Reply

