Mima mounds

My son Micah at the Mima Mounds Natural Area. Click to enlarge.

Dan McShane, over at Washington Landscapes blog, finally visited the enigmatic Mima Mounds south of Olympia. He writes about them here. He mentions on his post that I include them in my book, Geology Underfoot in Western Washington, and that I have a cross section photo. This is all true. But if I put everything from the book onto my Northwest Geology Field Trips website, why bother with the book? I do hope to earn a little money from my writing, so if you want to read my humble opinion on the origin of those wacky, mysterious mounds, be patient.

3 Responses

  1. When does your book come out? Will it be a field trip guidebook?

    • Lisa
      The book, Geology Underfoot in Western Washington, has not gone to the publisher, I am still writing. It will consist of 26 explanatory geology field trips to sites of interest in western WA. Each chapter will have the necessary background to get the idea of what the geology seen is all about. Some chapters will focus on a single rock outcrop, as an example of a larger story. Others will visit several places along a road or trail. Some trips will have easy hikes associated with them, others will be strictly at a place where you can get out of a car to see the geology.
      Thanks for writing.
      Dave

  2. Just trying to build anticipation for your book! I never gave the mound much thought but they have been hurting my head since I paid a visit.

Leave a Reply

