Searching for Erratics

Happy New Year, geology friends,

I’m writing a self-guiding geology field guide oriented to a popular audience, Geology Underfoot in Western Washington. I’m including a chapter on BIG glacial erratics in the Puget Lowland. If you know of any nice examples in Western Washington, please let me know how to get to them. It is OK if a not-too-strenuous hike is required. I’d like these to either be BIG ones, or really unusual or beautiful ones. So far, I have chosen these  to write about, already discussed in the pages of this website:

Saar Creek erratic, east of Sumas 

Donovan erratic, Bellingham

Waterman Rock (Langley) and Big Rock, Coupeville

A large Chuckanut Fm. erratic at Double Bluff, Whidbey Island

Wedgwood Rock, Seattle

According to Steve Porter, there is a 35’ tall granodiorite erratic in the Yelm area, but I haven’t found it yet.

Thanks to all from the WWU geology listserve who have already sent in some suggestions. I have heard about one on the Shoreline CC campus, another in Carnation, and one on the 4800 block of Graham St. in Seattle.I have a report that there is, or maybe was, a well-known erratic in Rainier Valley at 48th Ave. S. and S. Ferdinand St. It was known as the “Big Rock.” Does anyone know about this one?

If you know of some good ones, please respond to me at:

email contributions to this address.

Feel free to attach a photo. Please put Glacial Erratic in the subject line.

Good ones that don’t make it into Geology Underfoot, it could still get posted on this website.

Much obliged,   Dave Tucker

P.S.– this website has just passed 50,000 views in just over a year. Thanks for your interest!

3 Responses

  1. N. Texas Road on March Pt.

  2. hi dave
    just visited the large erratic in lake stevens and found your website for the first time..most enjoyable

    I remember a large erratic boulder from when I was a kid but havent been back in years to check it out. it is in the 3800 block of E. McGilvera St. on the south side of the road in the madison park area of seattle..it is ma;ybe 10 or 12 ft. high and 20 ft. long and broken into 2 pieces when bulldozers moved it for a housing development called canterbury in the 1950’s..I live in moses lake now or I would go verify its continued existence myself

Leave a Reply

